One Full Breath Cycle

One full breath cycle

A full cycle of breathing consists of an inhalation, holding the breath, exhalation and holding after exhalation.

In sanskrit these are as follows:

Puraka - Puraka

Retention - Antara Kumbhaka

Exhalation - Rechaka

Retention - Bahya Kumbhaka

The mind should feel no strain after a breath. Over time try to relax deeply when performing pranayama.